Card name: Kytheon, Hero of Akros
Mana Cost: Color W
Converted Mana Cost: 1
Types: Legendary Creature — Human Soldier
Card Text: At end of combat, if Kytheon, Hero of Akros and at least two other creatures attacked this combat, exile Kytheon, then return him to the battlefield transformed under his owner's control.

CMC2Color W: Kytheon gains indestructible until end of turn.

P/T: (2/1)
Expansion: ORIM Origins
Rarity: Mythic Rare

Kytheon, Hero of Akros
Card rulings (?)
2015-06-22 Kytheon's first ability will count creatures that attacked but are no longer on the battlefield (perhaps because they didn't survive combat damage being dealt). It will not count any creatures that were put onto the battlefield attacking, as those creatures were never declared as attackers.
2015-06-22 Each face of a double-faced card has its own set of characteristics: name, types, subtypes, power and toughness, loyalty, abilities, and so on. While a double-faced card is on the battlefield, consider only the characteristics of the face that's currently up. The other set of characteristics is ignored. While a double-faced card isn't on the battlefield, consider only the characteristics of its front face.
2015-06-22 The converted mana cost of a double-faced card not on the battlefield is the converted mana cost of its front face.
2015-06-22 The back face of a double-faced card (in the case of Magic Origins, the planeswalker face) can't be cast.
2015-06-22 Although the two rules are similar, the "legend rule" and the "planeswalker uniqueness rule" affect different kinds of permanents. You can control two of this permanent, one front face-up and the other back-face up at the same time. However, if the former is exiled and enters the battlefield transformed, you'll then control two planeswalkers with the same subtype. You'll choose one to remain on the battlefield, and the other will be put into its owner's graveyard.
2015-06-22 A double-faced card enters the battlefield with its front face up by default, unless a spell or ability instructs you to put it onto the battlefield transformed, in which case it enters with its back face up.
2015-06-22 A Magic Origins planeswalker that enters the battlefield because of the ability of its front face will enter with loyalty counters as normal.
2015-06-22 In some rare cases, a spell or ability may cause one of these five cards to transform while it's a creature (front face up) on the battlefield. If this happens, the resulting planeswalker won't have any loyalty counters on it and will subsequently be put into its owner's graveyard.
2015-06-22 You can activate one of the planeswalker's loyalty abilities the turn it enters the battlefield. However, you may do so only during one of your main phases when the stack is empty. For example, if the planeswalker enters the battlefield during combat, there will be an opportunity for your opponent to remove it before you can activate one of its abilities.
2015-06-22 If a double-faced card is manifested, it will be put onto the battlefield face down (this is also true if it's put onto the battlefield face down some other way). Note that "face down" is not synonymous with "with its back face up." A manifested double-faced card is a 2/2 creature with no name, mana cost, creature types, or abilities. While face down, it can't transform. If the front face of a manifested double-faced card is a creature card, you can turn it face up by paying its mana cost. If you do, its front face will be up. A double-faced card on the battlefield can't be turned face down.
2016-04-08 The back face of a double-faced card doesn't have a mana cost. A double-faced permanent with its back face up has a converted mana cost equal to the converted mana cost of its front face. Each back face has a color indicator that defines its color.
2016-07-13 For more information on double-faced cards, see the Shadows over Innistrad mechanics article (

Gideon, Battle-Forged

Card name: Gideon, Battle-Forged
Converted Mana Cost: 1
Types: Planeswalker — Gideon
Card Text: +2: Up to one target creature an opponent controls attacks Gideon, Battle-Forged during its controller's next turn if able.

+1: Until your next turn, target creature gains indestructible. Untap that creature.
0: Until end of turn, Gideon, Battle-Forged becomes a 4/4 Human Soldier creature with indestructible that's still a planeswalker. Prevent all damage that would be dealt to him this turn.

Loyalty: 3
Expansion: ORIM Origins
Rarity: Mythic Rare

Gideon, Battle-Forged
Card rulings (?)
2015-06-22 Gideon's first ability causes a creature to attack him if able. If, during its controller's declare attackers step, that creature is tapped, is affected by a spell or ability that says it can't attack, or hasn't been under its controller's control continuously since that player's turn began, then that creature doesn't attack. If there's a cost associated with having that creature attack, its controller isn't forced to pay that cost. If he or she doesn't, the creature doesn't have to attack.
2015-06-22 If Gideon can't be attacked, perhaps because he has left the battlefield before the creature's controller's next combat, the creature targeted by Gideon's first ability can attack you or another planeswalker you control, or its controller can choose to have it not attack at all.
2015-06-22 If the creature targeted by Gideon's first ability changes controllers before it has the chance to attack Gideon, the ability will apply to it during its new controller's next turn.
2015-06-22 If Gideon becomes a creature due to his third ability, that doesn't count as having a creature enter the battlefield. Gideon was already on the battlefield; he only changed his types. Abilities that trigger whenever a creature enters the battlefield won't trigger.
2015-06-22 Gideon's third ability causes him to become a creature with the creature types Human Soldier. He remains a planeswalker with the planeswalker type Gideon. (He also retains any other card types or subtypes he may have had.) Each subtype is correlated to the proper card type: Gideon is just a planeswalker type (not a creature type), and Human and Soldier are just creature types (not planeswalker types).
2015-06-22 If you activate Gideon's third ability and then damage is dealt to him that can't be prevented, that damage has all applicable results: specifically, the damage is marked on Gideon (since he's a creature) and that damage causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from him (since he's a planeswalker). If Gideon has no loyalty counters on him, he's put into his owner's graveyard as a state-based action. (As long as he still has indestructible, the marked damage won't cause him to be destroyed.)
2015-06-22 Say you activate Gideon's third ability, then an opponent gains control of him before combat. You may have any of your creatures attack Gideon (since he's still a planeswalker). Then Gideon may block (since he's a creature). He may block any eligible attacking creature, including one that's attacking him. During combat, he behaves as an attacked planeswalker and/or a blocking creature, as appropriate. For example, he deals combat damage to any creatures he's blocking, but he doesn't deal combat damage to any unblocked creatures that are attacking him.


Kytheon Iora began in the metropolis of Akros, found on Theros. He spent his childhood on the streets, leading an outfit of street thieves known as Kytheon's Irregulars. After being caught in the act of stealing from nobility, Kytheon was sentenced to ten years in Akroan prison, governed by the enigmatic prison warden, Hixus.

When Kytheon upset the established inmate hierarchy and caused a riot or two, Hixus placed him under his personal watch in order to guide his development. However, Hixus was also a trained mage, and saw in Kytheon the potential for magical ability, if not eventually planeswalker status. He decided to train Kytheon in hieromancy--the magic of laws and restrictions.

Kytheon eventually won his freedom after successfully defending Akros during an invasion from Erebos, the God of the Underworld. His success was also rewarded with a personal audience with Heliod, God of the Sun. Heliod commissioned Kytheon with the task of slaying Erebos's champion, a titan wandering the wilds in the mountains above Akros. To aid him in this task, Heliod lent Kytheon his spear, a powerful magical artifact.

With the help of the spear and his band of Irregulars, Kytheon slew Erebos's titan. In the aftermath, Erebos appeared, and Kytheon attacked him in an act of hubris. The counterattack from Erebos destroyed all of Kytheon's Irregulars and plunged Kytheon into a crisis of guilt over their deaths. The crisis triggered his planeswalker Spark, causing him to transform into a planeswalker and escape to Bant.

Upon arriving in Bant, Kytheon was conscripted into service by local authorities. Unable to pronounce his name, they renamed him Gideon Jura, further cementing in place his irreversible new identity as a planeswalker.